About Immunologik

The ImmunoLogik GmbH develops a novel class of substances for the fight against viral infections

IML-206 against SARS-CoV-2 and other coronaviruses

THE CHALLENGE

Since the outbreak of SARS-CoV-2 several million people got infected with this virus and several hundred thousand people already died due to the consequences of COVID-19. Coronaviruses are a recurring and ongoing pandemic of the 21st century. In the last two decades three coronaviruses emerged, SARS, MERS and SARS-CoV-2, and caused life-threatening diseases. So far, no vaccine or specific antiviral therapy for SARS-CoV-2 exist. Current repurposed drugs in clinical development either have many side effects or have a high risk for the development of drug resistances, because they target components of the genetically variable viruses. Therefore, an urgent medical need for a reliable and tolerable broad-spectrum antiviral drug without the risk of resistant virus variations exists.

OUR SOLUTION APPROACH

IML-206 as a broad-spectrum antiviral drug for the treatment of patients infected with SARS-CoV-2 or other (future) coronaviruses. Unlike many other developments, the innovative substance IML-206 blocks specific cellular structures in humans, which are very likely indispensable for the replication of a broad range of coronavirus variants.

IML-106 against HIV

THE CHALLENGE

Worldwide more than 36 million people live with an HIV infection and thus with the expectation to develop AIDS sooner or later. Despite the available combined antiretroviral therapy, AIDS is far from being defeated. With an array of drugs, the therapy targets viral components and suppresses the replication of the virus and therewith in most cases the outbreak of the fatal AIDS disease. Due to the high mutation rate of the virus, new variations increasingly resistant against the existing drugs arise constantly. Additionally, many drugs cause severe side effects and cannot be permanently taken by a large number of patients. Therefore, despite the modern combined antiretroviral therapy annually around 22 000 HIV-infected alone in Western and Central Europe as well as USA die from the consequences of AIDS.

OUR SOLUTION APPROACH

IML-106 for the efficient and essential treatment of patients who have exploited all available means of the modern therapy, and who would die due to the unavoidable outbreak of AIDS. The lead candidate targets directly the components of the host cell, which are essential for the replication of HIV. The goal is to significantly reduce the risk of resistant virus variations.

Our Team

Dr. Christian Setz

Dr. Christian Setz

Scientific Managing Director

  • Co-inventor of ImmunoLogik’s lead candidates IML-106 and IML-206
  • PhD thesis in molecular virology at the Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nuremberg
  • More than 15 years’ experience in virology
  • Former project leader of an independent HIV-1 research group at the Institute for Clinical and Molecular Virology in Erlangen
  • Extensive research contributions in the development of novel antiretroviral strategies by deciphering molecular mechanisms, which regulate the functions of viral proteins and their cellular counterparts
  • Scientific publications in leading international science journals
  • Numerous active participations in renowned national and international virology congresses

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schubert

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schubert

Scientific adviser

  • Co-founder of ImmunoLogik GmbH
  • Doctoral thesis in biochemistry at the University of Leipzig
  • Former group leader and staff scientist at the Department of Medical Immunology of the Medical Faculty of the Charité, Humboldt University Berlin
  • Habilitation in “Experimental Virology” at the University of Hamburg
  • 10 years at the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases in Bethesda, USA
  • Since 2003 professor for virology at the Institute for Clinical and Molecular Virology in Erlangen
  • 88 publications in renowned international science journals and more than 45 patent applications
  • Substantially involved in the development of the blockbuster drug VELCADE® (bortezomib) by Millennium Pharmaceuticals Inc.

Günter Frankenne

Günter Frankenne

Strategic advisor

  • More than 30 years of experience as:
  • CEO Sandoz AG, managing director Novartis GmbH and Wander Pharma GmbH
  • Committee member and chairman of the Federal Association of the Pharmaceutical Industry (Bundesverband der Pharmazeutischen Industrie)
  • Vice chairman of the Association of Research-based Pharmaceutical Companies (Verband Forschender Arzneimittelhersteller)
  • 10 years board member of Forum MedTech Pharma

Lars Siegert

Lars Siegert

Commercial Managing Director

  • Studies of Business Law LL.B. at University of Applied Sciences Osnabruck, Business Management with Law at Napier University Edinburgh B.A. with Honours and Business Developments M.A. at Leuphana University Luneburg
  • Business Development Manager at Athenion Group since 2016
  • Since then involved in the business development of the ImmunoLogik
  • Previously worked in the Business Development of different organizations in various industries
  • Several years' of experience as Management Consultant for DAX- and other global blue chip corporations
  • Work experience in UK, USA and Indonesia

Ekkehard Brysch

Ekkehard Brysch

Board member of Athenion AG and advisor

  • Studies of business administration and law at University of Göttingen
  • 25 years’ experience in international management consulting
  • Certified Management Consultant (CMC) and member of Association of German Management Consultants (Bundesverband Deutscher Unternehmensberater)
  • Certified Management Consultant (CMC) and member of Association of German Management Consultants (Bundesverband Deutscher Unternehmensberater)
  • 18 years’ experience in pharmaceutical development and investment business
  • Vice-president of the Board of Directors of Athenion AG & MetrioPharm AG
  • Represents Athenion AG as anchor investor

ATHENION-GROUP

ATHENION-GROUP

  • Successful in the development of pharmaceutical projects for more than 18 years
  • Enables ImmunoLogik to gain access to interdisciplinary expert teams from drug development, project and quality management, specialists in business development and patent law
  • Preserves necessary corporate infrastructure for the ImmunoLogik for a reasonable price

"Despite the modern combined antiretroviral therapy, annually 22 000 HIV-infected alone in Western and Central Europe as well as USA die from the consequences of AIDS. We founded the ImmunoLogik with the goal to give hope to the patients who have exploited the means of the standard therapy, and cannot be helped by it anymore."

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schubert

"ImmunoLogik is working on a novel and holistic approach for the treatment of HIV-infected patients, where the standard therapy proves to be largely ineffective. The for the development success important combination of scientific expert knowledge, industry expertise and patent protection is ensured by the close cooperation of science and industry experts. The interdisciplinary team work is an essential basis for the further successful drug development for the benefit of the affected patients."

Günter Frankenne

News

Coronavirus

Start of the crowdinvesting campaign against SARS-CoV-2 on aescuvest.de

In the fight against coronaviruses the team of the ImmunoLogik identified a promising lead candidate for the treatment of people infected with SARS-CoV-2. The highly qualified ImmunoLogik Team around Dr. Christian Setz (Managing Director, formerly project leader at the Institute for Clinical and Molecular Virology, Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nuremberg) and the scientific advisor Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schubert (Professor for virology at the Institute for Clinical and Molecular Virology, Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nuremberg) present this funding project on aescuvest.de in summer 2020. Only here you have the chance to learn more about the concept, to use the information advantage and to become an investor.

Read More
Coronavirus

Preannouncment: Crowdinvesting campaign on aescuvest

In the fight against coronaviruses the team of the ImmunoLogik identified a promising lead candidate for the treatment of people infected with SARS-CoV-2.

For the funding of the next steps in the drug development of the lead candidate IML-206 the ImmunoLogik starts a new crowdinvesting campaign on aescuvest.de and moneywell.de  in the context of the #CrowdBeatsCorona alliance.

Read More

Contact

How to contact us:

Über Immunologik

Die ImmunoLogik GmbH entwickelt eine neue Klasse von Wirkstoffen zur Bekämpfung von Virusinfektionen.

IML-206 gegen SARS-CoV-2 und andere Coronaviren

DIE HERAUSFORDERUNG

Mehrere Millionen Menschen haben sich seit Ausbruch der SARS-CoV-2-Pandemie mit diesem Virus infiziert und mehrere Hunderttausend Menschen sind bereits an den Folgen von COVID-19 verstorben. Coronaviren sind eine wiederkehrende und andauernde Pandemie des 21. Jahrhunderts. In den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten traten drei Coronaviren auf,  SARS, MERS und SARS-CoV-2, und verursachten lebensbedrohliche Erkrankungen. Es existiert bislang keine Vakzine oder spezifische antivirale Therapie für SARS-CoV-2. Aktuell umgewidmete Medikamente in der klinischen Entwicklung haben entweder viele Nebenwirkungen oder weisen ein hohes Risiko auf Medikamenten-Resistenzen zu entwickeln, weil sie Komponenten des genetisch variablen Virus attackieren. Daher gibt es einen dringenden medizinischen Bedarf für zuverlässige und gut verträgliche Breitband-Virostatika ohne Resistenzbildungsrisiko.

UNSER LÖSUNGSANSATZ

IML-206 als Breitband-Virostatika zur Behandlung von Patienten mit SARS-CoV-2- oder anderer (zukünftiger) Coronavirus-Infektionen. Anders als viele andere Entwicklungen blockiert der innovative Wirkstoff IML-206 zelluläre Strukturen im Menschen, welche sehr wahrscheinlich für die Vermehrung einer ganzen Bandbreite von Coronavirusvarianten unerlässlich sind.

IML-106 gegen HIV

DIE HERAUSFORDERUNG

Weltweit leben mehr als 36 Millionen Menschen mit einer HIV-Infektion und damit der Erwartung früher oder später an AIDS zu erkranken. Trotz der inzwischen verfügbaren hochaktiven antiretroviralen Therapie, ist AIDS noch lange nicht besiegt. Die Therapie richtet sich mit einer Reihe von Medikamenten gegen virale Bausteine und unterdrückt die Vermehrung des Virus und dadurch bei den meisten Infizierten den Ausbruch der tödlich verlaufenden AIDS-Erkrankung. Aufgrund der hohen Mutationsrate des Virus entstehen jedoch stets neue Varianten, die zunehmend gegen die bestehenden Medikamente resistent sind. Außerdem haben die Medikamente starke Nebenwirkungen und können von einer größeren Zahl von Patienten nicht dauerhaft eingenommen werden. Deshalb sterben trotz der modernen antiretroviralen Therapie jährlich ca. 22 000 HIV-Infizierte allein in West- und Mitteleuropa sowie den USA an den Folgen von AIDS.

UNSER LÖSUNGSANSATZ

IML-106 zur effizienten und lebenswichtigen Behandlung von austherapierten Patienten, die ansonsten durch den Ausbruch von AIDS zwangsläufig versterben würden. Der Wirkstoff soll gezielt die Bausteine der Wirtszelle attackieren, welche für die Vermehrung von HIV essenziell sind. Zielsetzung ist es, die Gefahr der Entstehung resistenter Virusvarianten erheblich zu verringern.

Unser Team

Dr. Christian Setz

Dr. Christian Setz

Geschäftsführer

  • Miterfinder von ImmunoLogik's Wirkstoffkandidaten IML-106 und IML-206
  • Promotion in molekularer Virologie an der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
  • Über 15 Jahre Erfahrung im Bereich der Virologie
  • Ehemaliger Projektleiter einer unabhängigen HIV-1-Forschungsgruppe am Institut für Klinische und Molekulare Virologie in Erlangen
  • Umfangreiche Forschungsbeiträge in der Entwicklung neuartiger antiretroviraler Strategien durch die Entschlüsselung molekularer Mechanismen, die die Funktion von viralen Proteinen und deren zellulären Gegenspielern regulieren
  • Wissenschaftliche Veröffentlichungen in führenden internationalen Fachjournalen
  • Zahlreiche aktive Teilnahmen an renommierten internationalen und nationalen Kongressen der Virologie

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schubert

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schubert

Wissenschaftlicher Beirat

  • Mitgründer ImmunoLogik GmbH
  • Promotion in Biochemie an der Universität Leipzig
  • Ehemaliger Gruppenleiter und wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Abteilung für Medizinische Immunologie der Medizinischen Fakultät der Charité an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
  • Habilitation im Bereich "Experimentelle Virologie" an der Universität Hamburg
  • 10-jährige Tätigkeit am Nationalen Institut für Allergien und Infektionskrankheiten, Bethesda, USA
  • Seit 2003 Professor für Virologie am Institut für Klinische und Molekulare Virologie in Erlangen
  • 88 Publikationen in renommierten internationalen Fachzeitschriften sowie mehr als 45 Patentanmeldungen
  • Maßgeblich an der Entwicklung des Medikamenten-Blockbuster VELCADE® (bortezomib) der Millennium Pharmaceuticals Inc. beteiligt

Günter Frankenne

Günter Frankenne

Strategischer Berater

  • Über 30 Jahre Erfahrung als:
  • CEO Sandoz AG, Geschäftsführer Novartis GmbH, Geschäftsführer Wander Pharma GmbH
  • Aufsichtsratspositionen in Biotech-Unternehmen
  • Ausschussmitglied und -vorsitzender des Bundesverbandes der Pharmazeutischen Industrie (BPI)
  • Stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Vorstandes des Verbandes Forschender Arzneimittelhersteller (VFA)
  • 10 Jahre Vorstandsmitglied beim Forum MedTech Pharma

Ekkehard Brysch

Ekkehard Brysch

Vorstandsmitglied der Athenion AG und Berater

  • Betriebswirtschafts- und Jurastudium u. a. an der Georg-August Universität Göttingen
  • 25 Jahre international als Unternehmensberater tätig
  • Certified Management Consultant (CMC) und Mitglied im Bundesverband Deutscher Unternehmensberater (BDU)
  • Über 18 Jahre Erfahrung in Pharmabeteiligung & -entwicklung
  • Vizepräsident der Verwaltungsräte der MetrioPharm AG und der Athenion AG (Schweiz)
  • Vertritt die Athenion AG als Ankerinvestor

Athenion-Gruppe

Athenion-Gruppe

Ankerinvestor

  • Seit mehr als 18 Jahren erfolgreich in der Entwicklung von Pharmaprojekten
  • Ermöglicht der ImmunoLogik im Verbund Zugriff auf interdisziplinäre Expertenteams aus Wirkstoffentwicklung, Projekt- und Qualitätsmanagement, Spezialisten im Bereich Business Development und Patentrecht
  • Hält notwendige Unternehmensinfrastruktur für die ImmunoLogik kostengünstig vor

"Trotz der modernen antiretroviralen Therapie sterben allein in West- und Mitteleuropa sowie in den USA jährlich ca. 22 000 HIV-Infizierte an den Folgen von AIDS. Wir haben die ImmunoLogik mit dem Ziel gegründet, den austherapierten Patienten, welchen die Standardtherapie nicht mehr helfen kann, wieder neue Hoffnung zu schenken."

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schubert

"ImmunoLogik arbeitet an einem neuen und ganzheitlichen Ansatz für die Behandlung von HIV-Infizierten, bei denen die Standardtherapie weitgehend unwirksam ist. Die für den Entwicklungserfolg wichtige Kombination von wissenschaftlichem Expertenwissen, Branchenkenntnis und Patentschutz wird durch eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit erfahrenen Wissenschafts- und Industrieexperten sichergestellt. Die interdisziplinäre Teamarbeit ist eine wesentliche Grundlage für die weitere erfolgsversprechende Medikamentenentwicklung zum Wohle der betroffenen Patienten."

Günter Frankenne

News

Coronavirus

Vorankündung: Crowdinvesting-Kampagne bei aescuvest

Im Kampf gegen das Coronavirus hat das Team der ImmunoLogik einen vielversprechenden Wirkstoff zur Behandlung von SARS-CoV-2-infizierten identifiziert.

Zur Finanzierung der nächsten Schritte zur Entwicklung des Wirkstoffes IML-206 als Medikament startet die ImmunoLogik eine neue Crowdinvesting-Kampagne auf aescuvest.de und moneywell.de im Rahmen der #CrowdBeatsCorona Allianz.

Weiterlesen

US-Patent für IML-106 erteilt

Mit großer Freude haben wir die Nachricht aus den USA erhalten, dass das im Juli 2015 beantragte Patent für IML-106 nach langer sorgfältiger Prüfung der US-Patentbehörden diesen März unter der Patent-Nummer US 10,588,896 erteilt wurde. Das Patent erstreckt sich auf die Substanz IML-106 (in dem Patent noch unter dem alten Handelsnamen PR-619 beschrieben) zur Behandlung und Vorbeugung von retroviralen Infektionen und deren Sekundärerkrankungen, insbesondere HIV-Infektionen und AIDS.

Weiterlesen

Kontakt

So erreichen Sie uns: